Every year, the Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council (NLAC) celebrates local art in all disciplines in a big, gala-worthy way. This weekend, they announced this year’s winners, and, new Hall of Honour inductees. Nominations for the awards are submitted by the arts community, arts organizations, and the general public. Members of the NLAC vote by secret ballot to select the finalists and winners, and winners receive a $2,500 cash prize and a piece of artwork.

Fortis Properties Arts Hall of Honour Award: Dudley Cox (theatre)
Fortis Properties Arts Hall of Honour Award: Noreen Golfman (film)
CBC Emerging Artist Award: Stephen Dunn (film)
MUN Arts in Education Award: Jason Ross Sellars (mixed media / visual / theatre)
Patron of the Arts Award: Marlene Cahill
Cox & Palmer Arts Achievement Award: Barbara Doran (film)
BMO Bank of Montreal Artist of the Year Award: Jordan Bennett (visual artist)

“Regardless of artistic discipline – dance, theatre, writing, visual arts, multidiscipline, or film – our
professional artists are the scribes that chronicle the past and ensure our present is preserved for
the future,” said Stan Hill, NLAC Chair. “Their insightful work, from traditional to contemporary,
provokes emotion and inspires questions as well as new points of view.”

Over the next few days, we’ll post a little more on this matter.