The Canadian Folk Music Awards are exactly what they claim to be: awards for Canadian folk music. Last year, Newfoundland had a fine haul: Amelia Curran took home 2 trophies, Fortunate Ones won Vocal Group of the Year, Matthew Byrne won Trad Album of the Year, and The Swinging Belles took home Children’s Recording of the year. This year we have two nominations:

Duane Andrews’ Conception Bay: Instrumental Solo Artist of the Year 

From the Press Release: “The music of Duane Andrews is the product of a great ear, an adventurous spirit, and a love of music that is beyond category. This is clearly reflected in his latest release, Conception Bay, which dissolves the lines between folk, jazz and classical music. Arranged for guitar and string quartet, this album brings together elements of Russian folk music via the controversial classical composer Igor Stravinsky with the jazz manouche of master improvisor Django Reinhardt, all while being firmly rooted in the musical traditions of Duane’s home province of Newfoundland and Labrador.”

Nick Earle and Joe Coffin’s Live at the Citadel House: Young Performer of the Year 

From the Press Release: “Joe Coffin and Nick Earle are young emerging blues artists, adopting a distinctive style which is well beyond their years. They draw inspiration from blues greats such as Robert Johnson, Eric Clapton and Muddy Waters. Rich soulful vocals paired with blow your mind guitar solos are just two of the descriptions that come to mind when watching these two execute their skills. Earle and Coffin have already performed with many of Newfoundland’s top roots and blues musicians and have learned to demonstrate the utmost professionalism and style.

… Both Acts Also Going Head to Head for Other Music Awards This Season

Both of these artists are concurrently on shortlists for the 2016 MusicNL awards as well. In fact, they’re going head to head for the “Jazz/Blues Recording of the Year.” Duane is also up for the Male Artist of the Year, Entertainer of the Year, and Album of the Year MusicNL awards.