This Saturday in Toronto, Canadian songwriters were awarded trophies in 19 categories at the 12th annual Canadian Folk Music Awards, amidst performances by acts like Bruce Cockburn, The Ennis Sisters, Sultans Of String, and Red Moon Road.

Among the winners were our very own Duane Andrews, who won Instrumental Solo Artist of the Year for his album Conception Bay. Conception Bay is currently on the shortlist for The Overcast’s Borealis Music Prize.

From the press release: “The music of Duane Andrews is the product of a great ear, an adventurous spirit, and a love of music that is beyond category. This is clearly reflected in his latest release, Conception Bay, which dissolves the lines between folk, jazz, and classical music … this album brings together elements of Russian folk … jazz manouche … [and] the musical traditions of Duane’s home province of Newfoundland.”

Blues duo Nick Earle and Joe Coffin won in the The Young Performers of the Year.

From the press release: “Adopting a distinctive style which is well beyond their years, they draw inspiration from blues greats such as Robert Johnson, Eric Clapton, and Muddy Waters. Rich soulful vocals paired with blow your mind guitar solos are just two of the descriptions that come to mind when watching these two execute their skills.”