Name-Making Emerging Filmmaker Award Looking for Its 7th Winner: Apply Now

Nab $10,000 towards a short film, and join a list of names like: Allison White, Ruth Lawrence, Jacqueline Hynes, Tamara Segura, Jenina MacGillivray, and Wanda Nolan.

You’ve heard of at least one or six of these names: Wanda Nolan, Jenina MacGillivray, Tamara Segura, Jacqueline Hynes, Ruth Lawrence, and Allison White. They’re the past winners of the RBC Michelle Jackson Emerging Filmmaker Award — a peer-juried award known for truly boosting if not launching film careers for female filmmakers in NL.

This annual award is open to emerging female directors who reside in Newfoundland and Labrador and who have not yet directed a feature film. Naturally, only directors may apply. The award provides $15,000 in cash and in-kind services towards the creation of a six-minute film.

The award-recipient is partnered up with a mentor to create the short film, and the final film will screen at the Closing Night Gala of the 2017 St. John’s International Women’s Film Festival. At this year’s festival in October, we’ll all see what last year’s winner Wanda Nolan put together, with her short film, Crocuses.

The St. John’s International Women’s Film Festival will be accepting applications to RBC Michelle Jackson Emerging Filmmaker Award until 5:00pm on Thursday, August 18th. To apply click here.

More from TheOvercast

Artist of the Week: Florian Hoefner

Catch Florian on November 18th, 8pm, and the D.F Cook Recital Hall...
Read More

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.