Administered by the Writers Alliance of NL, sponsored by Broken Books, and judged by CBC Radio host Angela Antle and actor/author Greg Malone, a winner has been named for the 3rd annual WANL Postcard Short Story Contest: Mary Pike’s “Sharo.” As winner, she’ll receive a $250 cash prize plus a $50 gift certificate from Broken Books.

Local writers were allowed a maximum of 250 words to tell a whole, satisfying tale. And it had to include the word “Broken,” in recognition of this year’s award sponsor, Broken Books. Mary’s win is not surprising given the roll she has been on lately, winning the 2014 H.R. (Bill) Percy Novel Prize, and the 2013 Percy Janes First Novel Award, as well as receiving honourable mention for the 2011 Cuffer Prize. In 2012, Pike apprenticed with Gerard Collins in WANL’s competitive Mentorship Program for Emerging Writers.

The two runners-up were Kristine Power for “The Cartography of Them,” and Chris Bruce for “Don’t Fix It.” Beth Ryan received Honorable Mention for “On the Rocks.” Part of the prize for all finalists included publication in the Newfoundland Quarterly’s 2015 summer issue.

“This year we received the greatest number of entries yet,” says Alison Dyer, executive director of the Writers’ Alliance. “Writing competitions like this one can help novice writers in particular take that first step: sending their stories out; getting them read; and possibly netting them a cash prize and that important first literary publication credit. For the Alliance, we’re discovering some new talent across the province.”

Established in 1987, the Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador is a not-for-profit member-based organization providing a supportive and inspiring environment for writers in Newfoundland and Labrador, advocating on behalf of the well-being of the province’s writers, increasing public awareness of and celebrating the province’s authors, and helping to build the provincial literary sector.