The Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television awards are a fusion of the former Genie and Gemini awards. They recognize Canadian talent in the film and television industry.

Not surprisingly, many locals are nominees this year, among the suite of shortlists that include names like Atom Egoyen, Ryan Reynolds,  Julianne Moore, and David Cronenberg.

Last year’s Discovery Channel sensation Cold Water Cowboys is nominated for Best Factual Program or Series, while Allison White and Christian Sparkes’ feature film Cast No Shadow, the local film known for taking 6 awards at this year’s Atlantic Film Festival, is up for Best Motion Picture, Achievement in Art Direction, Achievement in Music, and Best Adapted Screenplay (for Joel Thomas Hynes, whose son Percy plays a starring role).

Unsurprisingly, This Hour Has 22 Minutes and The Rick Mercer Report are on three shortlists a piece. Adam Penney – known to many as the Heavy Weather guy – and Andrew Younghusband (host of Don’t Drive Here) are also nominees,  as is Kenneth J. Harvey, on account of his screenwriting for The Slattery Street Chronicles. CBC’s Here and Now is up for Best Local Newscast.

Off the island, the big favourites this year are the TV show Orphan Back,  Xavier Dolan’s feature film Mommy, and Cronenberg’s Maps to the Stars (a movie recognized by the Golden Globes).
Winners will be crowned live on CBC TV  on Sunday March 1, 2015 (some awards will be doled out during the week of February 23rd).