Government Launches Province-wide Leadership Sessions for Women Interested in Politics

The goal of these sessions is to encourage women aged 16 to 30 to take leadership roles in politics and their communities.

Susan Sullivan, Minister Responsible for the Status of Women, has recently announced a series of “Young Women’s Leadership Sessions” that will take place across the island, with the goal of encouraging women aged 16 to 30 to take leadership roles in politics and their communities.

“In Canada,” Sullivan says, “women represent 52 percent of the population, yet they only make up an average of 24 percent of the country’s municipal, provincial and federal elected representatives. We hope these sessions will spark a desire for many young women to consider taking an active role.”

The sessions will run from now through September in various communities – see below for a schedule. The workshops were developed through a partnership between the Women’s Policy Office and the Office of Public Engagement, and will be hosted by 19 Community Youth Networks.

By participating in the facilitated workshops, young women will learn how to effectively engage in their communities and with the political system at the municipal, provincial, and federal levels.

The Young Women in Leadership Sessions give young women the opportunity to explore the gender distribution of local municipal council positions, share insights on issues faced by their communities, celebrate and explore what young women are already doing in communities to address key issues, and more.

Feedback will be gathered throughout the sessions, and made it available to the public.

DateLocationVenueContact
August 3PlacentiaCommunity Youth Network Placentiacynplacentia@yahoo.ca
August 10Plum PointPlum Point Community Youth Networkcynplumpoint@gmail.com
August 12Harbour GraceHarbour Grace Community Youth Network (Splash Centre)splashcentre@live.ca
August 12StephenvilleCommunity Youth Network – Southwesternvanessaleecis@gmail.com
August 18St. LawrenceSt. Lawrence Community Youth Networkcynstlawrence@nf.aibn.com
August 19St. AnthonySt. Anthony & Area Boys & Girls Community Youth Networkcommunityyouthnetwork@gmail.com
August 20Grand Falls-WindsorThe Youth 2000 Centrey2c@live.ca
August 21Baie VerteSt. Anthony & Area Boys & Girls Community Youth Networkayscbaieverte@gmail.com
August 26Harbour BretonHarbour Breton Community Youth Networkhbcyn@nf.aibn.com
August 27Bay d’EspoirBay d’Espoir Community Youth Networkbdecyn@nf.aibn.com
September 9Corner BrookCommunity Youth Network Corner Brook/Bay of islandscommunityyouth.ymca@hotmail.com
September 9L’Anse au LoupSouthern Labrador/Strait of Belle Isle Community Networkgrcyn@nf.aibn.com
September 10SpringdaleSpringdale CYNicecap@nf.aibn.com
September 12Happy Valley-Goose BayLabrador Friendship Centercynhvgb@gmail.com
September 16Cape BroyleCYN – Southern Avalonmoran_nfld@hotmail.com
September TBDGanderThe Open Door Community Youth Networkkimberly.murphy@nfld.net
September TBDBotwoodBotwood CYNcolleenhayter@nf.aibn.com
TBDSt. John’sCYN St. John’s Inc (Thrive)acrockwell@thrivecyn.ca
More from TheOvercast

Just how to Create An Investigation Document in APA Style

The entire year 2009 has observed an update in guidelines that were...
Read More

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.