Leading up the the provincial election, we’ll round up whatever exists online about the candidates in each of the 10 districts of Greater St. John’s.

As you know, you can vote for the candidate whose party leader you want as premier, or, you can vote for the candidate in your district whom you think will best represent your neighbourhood’s wants and needs. To find out what district you are in, click here. For a list of the wheres and whens of voting this month, click here.

Liberal Candidate: Randy Simms

♦ Professional background in media: 40+ years as television reporter, writer, and talkshow host. He’s also been a business owner, and has professional experience in the nonprofit sector to boot.

♦ 26 years of experience in municipal politics, and is the current mayor of Mount Pearl. Simms has also served as president of the Federation of Municipalities, a chair of the Municipal Assessment Agency, and a board member with the Multi-Materials Stewardship Board (MMSB).

♦ A founding member, and former president of the Mount Pearl Chamber of Commerce; has served as chair of the Urban Members Committee of the provincial organization Municipalities Newfoundland & Labrador (MNL).

♦ A “dedicated community volunteer” who has won the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal.

NDP Candidate: Cameron Mercer-Maillet 

♦ As the youngest NDP candidate in the province, Mercer-Maillet is “passionate about increasing opportunities for youth in Newfoundland and Labrador,” and has taken on the role of NDP Youth Caucus Outreach Coordinator.
♦ Known as an advocate for increasing minimum wage “to a fairer wage.”
♦ Worked on the “Save Canada Post” campaign, and has been a vocal participant in the NL anti-fracking movement.

Progressive Conservative Candidate: Steve Kent

♦ Political career launched early: In 1999, he was recognized by Maclean’s as one of the top 100 Canadians to watch; In 1997, he became the youngest elected public official in the history of Mt. Pearl, and receiving a record number of votes, he was elected Deputy Mayor.

♦ Former mayor of Mt. Pearl (2003 until his resignation in 2007); was an active member of the Atlantic Mayors Congress; has been the MHA for the Mt. Pearl North District since 2007.

♦ Appointed Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister Responsible for the Office of Public Engagement in 2012; Appointed to Cabinet to serve as Minister of Municipal and Intergovernmental Affairs, Minister Responsible for Fire and Emergency Services – Newfoundland and Labrador, and Registrar General in 2013.

♦ Currently serving as the Deputy Premier, Minister of Health and Community Services, and Minister Responsible for the Office of Public Engagement.