For General inquiries about The Overcast, or to pitch articles:
Chad Pelley:

To Purchase Print or Web Ads:
Visit our ad rate information page.

Send Media Review Copies to:

The Overcast
7 Plank Road
St. John’s, NL
A1E 1H3

Read our Privacy Policy here.

About the Overcast

The Overcast is a multi-award-winning media body stationed in St. John’s, NL. Best known for its monthly print magazine, The Overcast also publishes exclusive web content on weekdays, administers the $12,500 Albedo Grant to support promising new business ventures, and, the Borealis Music Prize — Newfoundland’s richest award for a local album of the year.

The Overcast is mandated to promote the people, places, artists, academics, restauranteurs and entrepreneurs that make the island of Newfoundland the place it is, and, to start conversations around local issues in hopes of making the province an even better place to live.

We differ from other local media by avoiding the “This Just Happened!” style of breaking news, and focusing on “what just happened” by putting a little meat on those skeletal stories. Less a news site, The Overcast is a cultural magazine looking to tap the vein of what makes the island distinct or worthwhile.

Our most recent awards include the City of St. John’s Discovery Award, MusicNL’s Media Person of the Year and Outstanding Company of the Year, a shout out from London’s The Monocle that called our “smart, informed and interesting” paper “the one to read in St. John’s.” We also received an East Coast Music Award nomination for Media Outlet of the Year.

Publisher & Editor: Chad Pelley (
Chief Staff Writer & Publisher’s Assistant: Eva Crocker (
Art Director: Mira Howards (
Ad Sales Manager: Elaine Pond (
Staff Photographer: Joel Upshall (

Regular Contributors: Ed Riche, Lauren Power, Terri Coles, Iain McCurdy, Emily Deming, Felicity Roberts, “Badge,” Wendy Rose, Chad Pelley, Dave Lane, Eva Crocker, Amy Stoodley, Elizabeth Whitten, Heather Nolan, Patrick Butler, Meghan McCabe, Alyson Samson, Erin Power, Sharleen Simmons, Brad Pretty, Joanna Barker, Steve Maloney, Lukas Wall, Ryan Belbin, Shannon Web-Campbell, Kerri Cull, Mary MacDonald, “L.P.,” Annie McEwen, Martin Poole, Craig Francis Power, Elizabeth Whitten, Sheilagh O’Leary, Drew Brown, Mark Hoffe, and Vicki Murphy. Each issue also features one-off contributions from freelancers — get in touch to pitch an article.

Any comments below our articles — as well as the articles themselves — are the express opinions of their individual authors. Not the paper. In other words, sue them, not us. Should you identify any content as harmful, malicious, insensitive, or unnecessary, we’ll probably feel horrible enough about that to take it down for you.