The Atlantic Book Awards are an annual bonanza of 11 separate books awards, meant to represent the best of east coast Canada’s literary offerings, and cover many genres, from fiction to non-fiction, down to short fiction, history, poetry and children’s.

This year, as with last year, 5 locals are up for various awards, including an Overcast contributor (this year; Eva Crocker).

The Awards will be given out in Paul O’Regan Hall, Halifax Central Library, on Thursday, May 10 at 7:00 p.m.

Alistair MacLeod Prize for Short Fiction

Scars and other Stories
By Don Aker

Barrelling Forward
By Eva Crocker

Peninsula Sinking
By David Huebert

Ann Connor Brimer Award for Children’s Literature

The Painting
By Charis Cotter

Polly MacCauley’s Finest Divinest, Wooliest Gift of All
By Sheree Fitch

The Memory Chair
By Susan White

J.M. Abraham Poetry Award

Everything We’ve Loved Comes Back to Find Us
By Allan Cooper

I’d Write the Sea Like a Parlour Game
By Alison Dyer

All the Names Between
By Julia McCarthy

Margaret and John Savage First Book Award – Fiction

The Greatest Hits of Wanda Jaynes
By Bridget Canning

All is Beauty Now
By Sarah Faber

Crying for the Moon
By Mary Walsh