Hey Rosetta!, Everglow, and Amelia Curran all came home with a trophy — or 3 in Hey Rosetta!’s case — after last night’s Eastlink East Coast Music Awards Show. 4 other locals are still up for industry awards, to be given out on Sunday: Kilbride Music, The Overcast, Scott Hammond, and The Blue Room. Additional music awards will also be given out during various East Coast Music Week events (see below).

Amelia Curran took home “Songwriter of the Year” honours, and also performed in a tribute to Ron Hynes, alongside artists like the Ennis Sisters, Bruce Guthro, Lennie Gallant, Ken Tizzard, Paul “Boomer” Stamp, Sandy Morris, Paul Kinsman, and Glenn Simmons.

Hey Rosetta! bagged 3 big awards: Group Recording of the Year, Song of the Year [“Soft Offering (For the Oft Suffering)]”, and Album of the Year [Second Sight].

Everglow took home the Fan’s Choice Video of the Year, for “Feel Your Heat” off their album Ocean Season.

The sold-out awards show was hosted by Ashley MacIsaac and Heather Rankin, and ECMA Executive Director, Andy McLean called it one of the most entertaining ECMA shows to date. “Once again, the awards show proved to be a great kick off to ECMW. There are so many more showcases and special events happening throughout the week, so make sure to get tickets and wristbands while you can!”

The evening saw performances from Hey Rosetta!, Jenn Grant, Fortunate Ones, City Natives, Heather Rankin, Ashley MacIsaac, Neon Dreams, Ben Caplan, Christina Martin, Natalie MacMaster & Donnell Leahy, The East Pointers, and Raphaël Butler.

Other awards will be given out during various East Coast Music Week events. All in all, there were 37 nominations for local artists:

Other local nominees include Duo Concertante (Classical), Quentin Reddy (country), Chess Club (electronic), Ouroboros (jazz), Jerry Stamp (rock), Cabbages & Kings (loud recording), Brianna Gosse (pop AND rising star), Kat McLevey (rising star), The Ennis Sisters (roots), Aaron Collis & Duane Andrews (trad), The Once (fan’s choice entertainer AND video).

In the realm of Industry awards, Kilbride Music is up for Manager of the Year, The Overcast is up for Media Outlet of the Year, The Blue Room is up for Studio of the Year, and and Scott Hammond is up for Studio Engineer of the Year.